Another (so pop culture I’m starting to suspect that I am Tool of the Man)Song Sampling of stuff I heard on the radio.

About a year and a half ago, I was driving from a Scuba dive, tired and beaten.  My brain was rattling around in my skull and I had reached one of those points when my Mormon Feminist Angst, nay Despair,  was at an all time high- this came on my car radio.

I consider it my Pop Music ode to Mormon Feminists/ Liberals.

I just think it’s hopeful and upbeat and just a little bit honest.

And THIS is the song that came on the radio while I was angsting when St. John stopped talking to me because I was a feminist.

And THIS is another just great music video

And THIS is the super poptacular song that came on and cheered me up when I was commuting home ,worried how the Honor Code now forbade advocacy for claiming homosexual relations are “morally acceptable”.  If you ever see me commuting home,I’ll have you know I often completely rock out and drum on the steering wheel and stuff.  I’m THAT commuter.

And from the social justice lovin’ new generation of Feminist Rappers: I bring you a combo of Mike Shinoda, Lupe Fiasco and Holly Brooks (I suggest you look them up.)

Language Warning

and for the non-remix version go here.

Aside: Shinoda also has some great stuff about the Japanese Internment Camps  in his song Kenji.

Aside: An example of Lupe Fiasco’s feminist lyrics – “Hurt Me Soul”-

“Now I ain’t tryna be the greatest
I used to hate hip-hop… yup, because the women degraded
But Too $hort made me laugh, like a hypocrite I played it
A hypocrite I stated, though I only recited half
Omittin the word “b#%ch,” cursin I wouldn’t say it
Me and dog couldn’t relate, til a b#%ch I dated
Forgive my favorite word for hers and hers alike
But I learnt it from a song I heard and sorta liked”

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

