JD Daughter is not a manic depressive, man-hating downer

Sometime I feel like I come off like a little bit of a downer on this blog.

There is a practical reason for this.

There is very little reason to have an anonymous blog for hiding all one’s super-happy, pleasant  thoughts and life occurrences.

That’s what all the non-anonymous blogs of the world are for.  Also…you know, generally, all the super awesome stuff in my life has the outlet of…you know…everyone else walking down the street while I skip through puddles and climb trees and hum to myself  happy ditties.

I have been blessed with a really simple sense of pleasure.  Pretty much anything can fill me with mirth.  Mangoes, interesting tile arrangements, hiding in the limbs of a tree,  when lint floats…just, trust me.  I’m a pretty spectacularly happy person.

My ADD, moved everywhere,”how fast can I zone out”, tendencies also make me ridiculously chill with day-to-day things.  Is your side of the room messy?  I didn’t notice. Once, while writing a paper on my bed with my headphones in, my roomate brought in hers visiting teachers, got taught a whole lesson and plate of cookies, and I didn’t notice.

The fact that I spent most of my life with cheerleaders, super-conservative Mormons and pop-music enthusiasts makes me pretty chill in company ( and their racist, sexist comments) which might otherwise lead me to tear my hair out and throw grenades.

I very rarely become angry with people—-even when I’m talking on my blog, I’m generally tackling some abstract concept that bugs me and not a person themselves.

I’m pretty pleased with life and I sometimes can find even my own flaws…kind of charming (?).

And I do like men.  I love men. I’ve heard it rumored that I don’t like men.

Sigh.  How little you know.

Look, if I could take everything that encompasses essential man-ness and hug it until it was compressed into a tiny little seed, and then plant it and water it until it became a tree, and then took the fruit and made 365 delicious home-baked pies and ate one every day for a year…I would.

I love you guys.

So let’s just put that little rumor to rest.

So just….RAINBOWS AND BUTTERFLIES!  UNICORNS AND LOLLIPOPS! CHRISTMAS AND ANGELS!  PUPPIES AND KITTENS ( Hey, Meredith McMermaid!  Speaking of which…can I come see your kitten today?)!  STARLIGHT AND FLOWERS!  NEW CAR SMELL AND GRANDMA’S CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIES!  TRUE LOVE AND  HORSESHOES!

Ok?

 

 

 

And…in further adventures in “Stuff JD heard on the pop radio station”

Now, just imaging me completely rocking out to this on the way home from work…just pounding the steering wheel.  Judge me if you will, but you know what the only thing harder than tolerating 15 minutes a day of pop-music while you pass the point of the mountain is?  Rocking out to Sufjan Stevens.  Very difficult.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “JD Daughter is not a manic depressive, man-hating downer

  1. Meredith McMermaid here. Did you never meet Hugh? Bah upon Bah upon Bah. I demand that he be resurrected immediately, specifically for your (and *cough* my) pleasure.

    Also, I am quite convinced that you like men. I was quite convinced before reading this blog posting.

Leave a Reply

